Search This Blog

Thursday, February 26, 2009


Sponsor: Senator Adeleke Olorunnimbe Mamora (Lagos East)

1, It repeals the tobacco (control) Act 1990 CAP. T16 Laws of the Federation
2, Completely domesticates the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC)
2, It establishes the National Tobacco Control Committee
3 , The National Tobacco Control Act 2009 will come to force six months from the date of assent
4, Every packet of tobacco for sale in Nigeria must carry the statement “ Sales allowed only in Nigeria”
5, Every tobacco product manufactured in Nigeria for export must bear; Manufactured in Nigeria for Export”
6, Every packet of cigarette must bear:
(I) Name and license number of the manufacturer/wholesaler/importer/exporter;
(ii) Serial number, date, location and country of manufacture;
(iii) Clearly visible “tax” stamp or marking,
7, It prohibits the sale of cigarette to Persons under 18
8,It prohibits the sale of tobacco products through vending machines
9, Prohibits the sale of cigarette in single sticks
10, Every cigarette pack must contain minimum of 20 sticks
11,No mail delivery of cigarette to consumers
12 Stipulates warning labels / health messages to cover at least 50 per cent of the principal display areas
13,The Health Minister can adjust the format of the health warnings/messages to include pictograms
14, It prohibits all forms of tobacco advertisement, sponsorships and promotions, endorsements or testimonials, sales promotions
15, Prohibits smoking in public places including restaurants and bars, public transportation, schools etc
16, Prohibition of the sale of tobacco products 1,000 meter radius places designated as non –smoking
17, Empowers government to use litigation to recoup liabilities related to tobacco consumption